Confession of a Wandering Soul

Ethan Ruan replaces Jay Chou as triad member in new film

Posted by diopatra on May 13, 2009

Source: Yahoonews
Taiwanese pop idol Ethan Ruan will be replacing Jay Chou to play a triad member in a new action movie Monga.

Set in the 80s in the Taipei Wanhua district, the movie, directed by Doze Niu, will commence shooting in August after a delay of four years. Ruan said he was hoping to be in the movie but never dreamt that he would be the male lead.

With a fee that has escalated more than three times, Ruan told Director Niu forthrightly, “I’m willing to be cast in this movie for any amount!” On hearing that, the producer of the film joked, “I think I have to relook at the price then!”

Though the usually sunshiny boy will be taking on the role as a triad member for the first time – a character very different from his actual self and previous characters – Director Niu has absolute confidence in him. The latter has also planned for Ruan to take on action training and hook him up with a real triad leader to observe their behaviour and speech after they return from the Cannes Film Festival’s Taiwan Night.

The film, which was originally planned for collaboration with Jay Chou five years ago, is targeted for screening for Chinese New Year next year. It will go head on with Chou’s new movie Ci Ling, which may be awkward for Niu.

Niu thanked Chou for his support back then, but since Monga is the only Taiwanese film to be screened during the festive season in recent years, Niu has decided to go up against Chou at the box office, regardless of the result.

4 Responses to “Ethan Ruan replaces Jay Chou as triad member in new film”

  1. yhna said

    cute

  2. nataly said

    oi tudo bom

  3. Edwin said

    First off I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had
    a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?

    Cheers!

  4. my site said

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed
    the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

 
