Confession of a Wandering Soul

Koda Kumi’s To Sing Aria Cover

Posted by diopatra on June 26, 2009

Koda Kumi will be providing the theme song for the upcoming film “Kamui Gaiden”, which stars actor Matsuyama Kenichi. The song is called “Alive”, and it is a cover of the classical song “Lascia ch’io pianga” (Let me weep) by George Frideric Handel, originally an aria in his opera “Rinaldo”.

To prepare for the recording session, Koda stopped speaking entirely for three days prior to entering the studio. “This will be my first time covering a classical piece,” said Koda. “It’s a challenge for the new me. The lyrics are in Japanese, and I found it really difficult to accurately express Kamui (the film’s main character)’s solitude and sadness. I wrote them as I watched the film, and if the song can help those who feel lonely or distressed to believe in the light, then I’ll be really happy with it.”

CREDITS: Music Japan

2 Responses to “Koda Kumi’s To Sing Aria Cover”

  1. Success!! 🙂

  2. NyNy said

    I loved Physical Thing more. That song was better for me. By the way, do you know any good J-Pop update blogs/sites?

Leave a Reply

 
